Do I lose my Strategies developed in trial version when upgrading to the full version?
Author: 123blee9
Creation Date: 6/13/2017 7:37 PM
profile picture

123blee9

#1
I downloaded the WealthLab Trail version (6.9.17.0 64 bit Edition Build 7) recently and developed around 30 different Strategies. I note one of the features not available in the trial version is the ability to backup all my Strategies to a single file. Having been approved today for WealthLab Pro access, is installation of that full version going to overwrite my existing trial version Strategies? If so, is there a key whereby I can unlock the ability to create a Strategies backup file?

Lastly, does upgrading to the full WLP version involve re-installation, or is it simply a matter of unlocking my current trial version? I was instructed by Active Trader Pro (ATP) support today that I would be able to access WLP via ATP. When I selected WLP from a dropdown menu from within ATP, it redirected me to a WLP download page.

Thanks,

Brian
profile picture

Eugene

#2
QUOTE:
I note one of the features not available in the trial version is the ability to backup all my Strategies to a single file

Brian, it's not true. The confusion probably comes from reading somewhere a manual for the antiquated V3/4 version (back from the 2000's) where there existed such a limitation. It doesn't apply to V6 anymore.

QUOTE:
Having been approved today for WealthLab Pro access, is installation of that full version going to overwrite my existing trial version Strategies?

No. By the way, the Wealth-Lab User Guide (Help menu) tells where they're kept > Data chapter > Where Data is Stored. By default, your Strategies are kept in eponymous subfolder over there as XML files containing their C# code and metadata (description, certain per-Strategy preferences).

Things to keep in mind:
1. Strategies can be relocated on a network drive
2. Since they're plain text XML files, they can be backed up easily
3. Don't be confused by the "c:\Program Files\Fidelity Investments\Wealth-Lab Pro 6\Data\Strategies\" folder. This is NOT the folder where your custom Strategies are stored.

QUOTE:
Lastly, does upgrading to the full WLP version involve re-installation, or is it simply a matter of unlocking my current trial version?

To convert from trial to full you just authenticate WLP with your credentials. Nothing is ever changed with regard to your data, Strategies or configuration. Reinstallation is not required altogether.
profile picture

Cone

#3
No worries. The trial is the same as the full version, you will simply receive an "entitlement" that will allow you to keep using WL Pro.

Uninstalling and/or upgrading to new version will not overwrite or delete your Strategies or data. It's still a good idea to back up. See User Guide: Data chapter > Where Data are Stored.

Re: access WLP via ATP
WL Pro and AT Pro are completely separate applications and neither rely on the other. Use AT Pro for your discretionary trading, Level 2, news, etc., if desired. Use Wealth-Lab for designing, backtesting, and automated trading.